Like millions of Americans I have a job.  It’s actually the best job I’ve ever had but just like everybody else I go to work because I get benefits and a paycheck, not because I love my boss.  My Obedience equals Pay and Benefits, in other words I obey for a reward.

In the book of John, Jesus says “If you love me, keep my commandments” so it looks like Love (A) equals Obedience (B).  Or maybe it’s because true love produces devotion so strong that when you love somebody, really love somebody, you spend most of your time trying to think about how to make them happy by doing things for them.  Maybe the bigger problem is that I don’t really think of pleasing the one you love as Obedience but I guess it is.  When the one you love wants something done, you do it with a smile on your face and a spring in your step because making them happy makes you happy!  Ah, those were the days…

Obedience carries with it the connotation of “duty”, “obligation” and” task” but making someone you love happy is never a chore, it is a privilege.  I’m starting to wonder if that word in the Bible was translated incorrectly…or maybe we’ve just developed the wrong connotations…

There are some churches out there that have reversed those and teach that Obedience (B) equals Love (A).  Unfortunately, math doesn’t usually work in most relationships, as I tried to show with my work analogy.  I am very obedient at work because my job depends on it (and also because it is a source of pride to do a job well).  These churches that teach a person does not love God unless you obey diligently, act appropriately, dress a certain way and speak Christianise are missing the heart of the matter.  If you are “obeying” for a reward, whether here on earth or in heaven, how does that possibly translate into love?  I believe those churches destroy the reputation of “real” Christians.

In fact, “real” Christians seem almost non-existent right now.  You can usually pick out the devout Catholics and Mormons out from a crowd because they are neat in appearance, polite and kind, it’s hard to describe but they have a different look about them that makes them distinguishable from others.  In fact, one of my daughters is frequently asked if she is Mormon because she is so nice!  The Bible says that other people will know we are Christians by our love for one another and yet this is so far from the reputation Christians actually have – it’s so sad!

Sooooo… how does this connect with Twilight?  My take on Bella is that she is more selfish than not and more independent than is good for her.  She hurts people thoughtlessly, only doing what she pleases and not following the advice of anyone who is trying to help her.  Gee, who else does that sound like?  Most of us…

Edward portrays unconditional love.  All he wants is for Bella to be happy and if that means she chooses Jacob he will back away like a gentleman and deal with it, no matter what it costs him, no matter how she hurts him in making choices that she thinks will make her “happy”.  The consequence, or result, however you choose to view it, is that Bella is free to do whatever she wants whenever she wants to do it she and runs back to Edward when it suits her.  Hmmm… we all have free will to decide if we are going to love God or not and our choices not to serve God, not to please him, not to make God happy really hurt Him because He really loves us.  And God loves us enough to allow us to make our own choices, to do what we think will make us happy.  Unlike Twilight, however, God will reward us according to our actions and we will get what we have earned, good or bad.

PLEASE NOTE: I am NOT saying in any way shape or form that Edward the vampire is a representation of Jesus… I am simply noting the similarities between the way that Jesus loves us and the portrayal of Edward’s love for Bella.  Even the World can get something right every once in a while, although, being the World, it does tend to twist and change the truth until it’s almost unrecognizable.

Thanks to all the movies and romance novels out there today unconditional love seems like it’s been exiled but it does exist!  It is real, we are all loved by God with a depth and passion that makes Edwards love for Bella pale in comparison and yet we have conditioned ourselves not to believe that could possibly be true because love like that only happens in fairy tales.

I’ve been working on this for almost a week so while I’m not done searching and questioning I will stop here for today.  Like Julia Roberts in Pretty Woman, I want the fairy tale…

