It’s a new year and I’m going on a new adventure which will possibly, probably, hopefully? include dating.  After being on my own for almost two years I still cringe slightly at the thought of actual dating – especially because of the three times I tried online dating last year…

Soooooo in preparation of future dating I decided I should at least write down what I’d like to see in a guy.  In the order that I thought them up, here is my list of character traits that are near and dear to my heart and that I try to live out myself:

  1.  Kindness.  Nothing melts my heart like someone who is kinder than necessary and has compassion for others regardless of whether or not they look like they deserve it.
  2. Light-hearted.  I like to laugh, in fact I LOVE to laugh – but not at the expense of others, that’s a huge turn-off. I want to be around someone who thinks I’m funny (that one may be hard to find) and can also make me laugh (easy to do).  Someone who sees the humor in things without turning everything into a joke and never being serious.  It’s a fine line, I know, but an important one.
  3. HELPFUL.  This is probably one of my biggest pet peeves, people who aren’t helpful.  If you see something that needs to be done, do it!  If you see someone struggling with something, help them!  Someone who volunteers to help with everything from carrying in the groceries to doing the dishes to lifting heavy objects… like my piano, lol, without complaining earn themselves a special place in my heart.
  4. A Gentleman.  For the first time in my life I know I am worth being treated like a lady and I would like to be around a true Gentleman who treats all ladies with dignity and respect.
  5. Affectionate in word and deed.  I crave affection but I also give it.  I’m a very touchy-feely kind of girl and I am constantly touching my friends (both male and female) on the back, shoulders, waist, arms – basically everything that’s “PC” for friends – and I hug them as often as I think I can get away with it.  If you’ve never read about The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman I encourage you to do so.  One of my primary Love Languages is Affectionate Touch so that means I give and feel loved when I am able to touch and be touched affectionately (which is non-sexually).
  6. Kind, positive, encouraging words and sincere compliments also mean the world to me.  I want a man who can say those things as well as receive them from me.
  7. I don’t care about the color of a your skin.  I could never be mistaken for anything but white so almost everybody’s skin is darker than mine and I actually love darker skin tones.  I grew up wishing I was a Native American, they’re such a beautiful people…  However, after being adopted by my Vietnamese family I have come to realize that a complete understanding of the English language is a must-have, since I don’t pick up other languages easily and effective communication is super important.
  8. A man who has goals and dreams I can help him reach… and who wants to help me reach mine, hopefully our goals and dreams are very similar if not the same.  I don’t want to be “kept”, sitting at home, bored with nothing to do.  I want to go places and help others, to accomplish things that will create jobs and teach people real life skills.

This is getting to be a long list… I should stop now.  Yes, I want the fairy tale.  No, I’m not beautiful like Julia Roberts but Richard Gere wasn’t really that good looking, maybe I can be the Average Joe in the relationship, hee, hee.

